amigo

What one caliber rifle for texas hunting

If you could have only one rifle caliber for Texas hunting, what would it be and why? (7M-08), for me 'cause I usually hunt hog and deer).

If you were to add a caliber for the hunting you do in North America, what would it be and why? (35 Whelen for me "cause I already have one and it would be sufficient on Elk, Moose, etc.)

If you want to add a two or three caliber battery, feel free to do so(after answering the above two questions).

I like my 6.5 Grendel (but 6.8 SPC would fit just as well here) quite a bit. Why? AR15 platform, relative low recoil, excellent terminal performance. Works nicely from mice to 270 lb boars.

I would say 260 AI. Because I like to be different. And it will kill anything I need to. And if I had a second choice it would be 17 hornet for small game and cheap reloading.

For me, that would be easy -- and the same cartridge that I have been using in a 20 1/8th" Contender barrel for right at 20 years now. It's the 7mm Bullberry, an extremely mild and efficient little cartridge that will take down any buck or hog inside of 300 yards. It works just as well on predators, and the bullets -- launched at pedestrian speeds -- don't damage the valuable pelts, either.

71195efe-483b-46ad-9869-52a26c537f78_zps

bobcat-7mmBB-2-20-2013_zpsad9b8041.jpg

coyote2-11-16-12-DSC_0406.jpg

grayfox-2-txt-LOWREZ.jpg

boar-7BB-lowrez_zpsllj7kucj.jpg

cartridges-2.jpg

For Texas and most everywhere else for deer/hog size game , you can't beat a .243 IMHO . I use a .264 Win Mag for Elk or have in the past , been thinking on upgrading to .300 WSM . I did become quite partial to my 6.5 Creedmore last year , deadly accurate and plenty of knock down .