Sign in to follow this  
Bobcat

"The Texas Two-Step" Javelina & Blackbuck-Article

Here is the link to my article in "AR Guns & Hunting" about hunting javelinas and blackbucks with an AR-15:

http://www.arshunt.com/spring2010/spring2010#&pageSet=98&page=0

There is a video on the second page. Just click on the photo.

ARGunsHunting-Blackbuck.jpg

The Texas Two-Step

by Bob Connell

Blackbuck

I have been guiding free-range blackbuck antelope hunts for the past nine years. It had also been nine years since I took my last blackbuck buck, so I figured I was due! I promptly booked a hunt with myself, totally aware that I would be dealing with a problem client!

The ranch I hunt is a working sheep and cattle ranch with low fences. The size of the blackbuck herd changes all the time as animals come and go on the ranch. The hunts are usually one day and start at sunup and go until sundown. I meet the hunter before first light in Camp Wood, Texas where we discuss the hunt, the weapon they will be using, shot placement, and how we are going to conduct the hunt. After going over our strategy for the hunt we hop in the truck and head to the ranch. The most effective way to hunt blackbucks is to do a spot and stalk hunt. You drive down the senderos on the ranch until you spot a good buck off in the distance. Many times you just get a flash of black or white. Then you need to quietly get out of the truck and start to move downwind of the buck being careful that he (or a doe in his harem) doesn’t spot you. You need to try and stalk as close as you can without being “busted”. The distance you can comfortably and accurately shoot from will determine how close you need to get before attempting a shot. Once you are within your comfort zone for distance, you should settle in and take your shot as soon as possible without rushing it. As I said before, they don’t stand still for very long.