Advice for coon calling

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OKyotee

OKyotee

• Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 21 July 2006 - 03:25 PM

Hey guys I am relatively new to predator hunting, and am looking for the best advice you can give on calling coons. I have alot of areas to hunt were I know the is a good population of coons living. I am going to try to go hunt specifically for coons very shortly. Hopefully I can get some more yotes in the process, but really want to call in a coon. I do not have a electronic call as of right now so I am limited to a handcall for the sounds I can produce, but I am going to build an e caller soon. Any advice would be greatly appreciated

#2 gscheig

gscheig

• Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

Posted 06 August 2006 - 07:42 PM

Hey guys I am relatively new to predator hunting, and am looking for the best advice you can give on calling coons. I have alot of areas to hunt were I know the is a good population of coons living. I am going to try to go hunt specifically for coons very shortly. Hopefully I can get some more yotes in the process, but really want to call in a coon. I do not have a electronic call as of right now so I am limited to a handcall for the sounds I can produce, but I am going to build an e caller soon. Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Just use a rabbit distress - jack or cottontail

Coons usually show up first for the easy pickings...

#3 Benoh23

Benoh23

Hunter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Interests:Hunting Coyotes, Fox, Cats, Coons, & lots and lots of Hogs.

Posted 09 August 2006 - 09:34 AM

Buy you a Psycho Tweety call and learn to do a woodpecker. I called 3 to the pickup Sunday night. Works great.

#4 OKyotee

OKyotee

• Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 August 2006 - 11:12 AM